Subscribe now!!

Saturday, September 16, 2000

Silicon Valley Saga Series

    Front page stories
    National network


Email Newsletter
Get the daily news headlines in your inbox


to the Editor


Express Interactive

Group sites

Intel IT Update


President to give away national film awards on Sept 18

NEW DELHI, SEPT 15: President K R Narayanan will give away the national film awards and the coveted Dada Saheb Phalke Award for 1999 on September 18.

Film-maker Hrishikesh Mukherjee is recipient of the Dada Saheb Phalke Award, which is given each year to a film personality for outstanding contribution to growth and development of Indian cinema. It consists of a Swarna Kamal, a shawl and Rs two lakh.

Among the national film awards, announced on July six, the Best Feature Film award went to Shaji N Karun's `Vanaprastham', in which the lead role was played by Mohan Lal, who bagged the Best Actor award.

The Best Director award was bagged by Buddhadev Dasgupta for Bengali film `Uttara', while Kiron Kher would receive the best actress award for Bengali film `Bariwali'.

Nargis Dutt award for best feature film on national integration would be presented to Punjabi film `Shaheed Uddham Singh', while Indira Gandhi award for best first film of a director is shared by Haryanvi film `Laado' and English film `Dollar Dreams'.

`Hari Bhari' produced by Health and Family Welfare Ministry and directed by Shyam Benegal was adjudged the best film on family welfare.

`Kairee' in Hindi, also produced by Health and Family Welfare Ministry and directed by Amol Palekar, was selected as the best film on social issues.

The `Goal' (Hindi) directed by Gul Bahar Singh was adjudged the best children's film.

Copyright © 2000 Indian Express Newspapers (Bombay) Ltd.


Back to Indian Express Home Photo Gallery Write in Entertainment Sports Business